Registered Clubs Introduction Leagues Competitions HSMBA Calendar Inter County County Champions Presentation Evening Successes Coaching Press Releases Links For Sale / Wanted Resources


Short Mat Bowling Association

Home Committee Constitution Contact

County Team Sponsor

Ross News

Ross Bowling Club Short Mat Bowling 2018-19

The short mat season began exceptionally well for Ross as the club secured the County Summer League title. Ross Rockers were drawn in the same group as Woolhope 2, the defending champions, but despite suffering a narrow home defeat to Woolhope, a satisfying away victory, combined with convincing wins in their other group matches, saw Ross win the group by 10 points. They faced Llangarron in the final where Ross dominated the match and won all 4 disciplines to take the title for the second time.

A full programme of club competitions across the winter season culminated in the finals of the handicapped Singles competition and an awards presentation and buffet supper. By the semi-final stage of the singles the field had been reduced to four players on the minimum handicap. Ian Roe, the defending champion, met multiple winner Tony Vitale and established an early lead which his opponent was never able to claw back, resulting in the match being won with an end to spare. The second semi-final also ended within the regulation 15 ends with last year’s runner-up Ian Park dominating against Les Williams and setting up a repeat of the previous year’s final. Despite falling behind early on, a strong run of ends saw Ian Roe establish a 9 shot lead by the half-way point of the match and, although Ian Park rallied to close the gap to 5, a couple of shots on the 14th end took Ian Roe over the line to secure his second consecutive title.

Club president John Perks presented the awards for all of the club competitions which had run over the winter season. The competition winners were:

Singles                                Ian Roe

Evening Triples                     Alan Stevens, Malcolm Ives, Ian Roe

Afternoon Pairs                    Hilary Churchill, Les Williams

Afternoon Australian Pairs     Liz Nicholson, Les Williams

Afternoon Triples (1)            Chris Edwards, David R Watkins, George Marshall

Afternoon Triples (2)            Liz Nicholson, Betty Aubrey, Ian Park

The Summer League success could not be replicated in the Winter League and Ross had to settle in the end for another runners-up spot behind Woolhope although the title race came down to the final match and was only lost by 4 points, the closest Ross had come to their rivals for many years. The Ross B side also narrowly missed out on a promotion slot from Division 2, eventually finishing in 3rd place after another close finish.

Club players saw success in a number of county tournaments, including the Mixed Fours which saw two Ross teams reach the final – the rink of Sue Dix, Kate Williams, Dave Watkins and Les Williams won that against Elaine & Rob George and Ian & Pam Park. Ian Park won his fourth County Singles title; Rob George, Ian Roe and Ian Park won the Bromyard Triples tournament and Bernard Glover, Elaine & Rob George and Ian Park won the Macmillan Cancer Support Trophy. Ian Park combined with Nic Lloyd (Fownhope) and Dominic Rogers (Woolhope) to win the Kingsway Triples charity tournament.

Five Ross players represented Herefordshire in the National Finals with the standout performance coming from Dave Watkins, Ian Roe and Shaun Jones who reached the quarter finals of the National Triples competition. Those three were joined by Kate Williams in the National Fours and reached the last 16, another strong performance, whilst Shaun Jones also reached the last 16 of the National Pairs, playing with John Mills of Woolhope. Ian Park found himself in a National Singles first round group with three England players and could not qualify from the group despite some close matches.

Ross dominate the Mixed Fours with both finalists

Club competition prize winners at the Ross Short Mat Presentation Evening

Ian Park wins his 4th County Singles title, defeating Joe Loveys in the final

Rob & Elaine George, Ian Park and Bernard Glover win the Macmillan Cancer Support Charity Fours

The Winter League ‘A’ squad :

Dave Watkins, Les Williams, Pam Park, Rob & Elaine George, Ian Roe, Kate Williams, George Marshall & Ian Park with County Vice Chairman Fran Jones

Bromyard Triples

Rob George, Ian Roe & Ian Park take the title, defeating a Larruperz team in the final

The Summer League Ross Rockers squad :

Les Williams, Rob George, Pam Park, Elaine George, Ian Park, Ian Roe and George Marshall with County Vice Chairman Fran Jones

Ian Park & team win the Kingsway Charity Triples tournament